Rock Mill Park encompasses the historic Rock Mill, a stunning grist mill built in 1824 above the Hocking River Falls, and the scenic Rock Mill Covered Bridge, constructed in 1901. Standing 90 feet above the gorge of the falls, Rock Mill stands as a testament to the rich agricultural heritage of Fairfield County, whose “fair fields” attracted so many brave pioneers in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. In the early 1800s, Rock Mill was one of a dozen mills in the area whose power source was the Hocking River. The mill was in operation grinding flour and corn into wheat and meal as late as 1905.
For nearly 100 years, Rock Mill was vacant. In 2003, Robert and Rita Stebelton donated the mill to the Fairfield County Historical Parks Commission. After an extensive archeological excavation, which included the discovery of Rock Mill’s original mill stones, the Historical Parks began extensive repair and restoration to the building. Through the combined resources of private donations, grants, and government funding, the Historical Parks have been able to repair the mill’s exterior and rebuilt its four above-grade floors and two subfloors. In September 2012, the Historical Parks added a replica of the mill’s 26-foot-in-diameter all-wooden waterwheel, the largest of its kind in the state. The park district continues to work toward making Rock Mill a fully operational grist mill.
From Rock Mill Park webpage